An empire-sized extravaganza is planned for Friday night at Carnegie Hall as famed American Symphony Orchestra celebrates its 50th Anniversary in a concert designed to revisit some of the group’s finest moments. Ariel Artists’ Blair McMillen will join the proceedings on piano along with sopranos Rebecca Davis, Abbie Furmansky, Katherine Whyte, and more, plus the Brooklyn Youth Chorus and the Collegiate Chorale.

Ticket prices for the event are being rolled back to “1962″ prices, ranging from $1.50 to $7.

The program will include Charles Ives’s 4th (which the ASO debuted at Carnegie in 1965), Mahler’s 8th (which the ASO gave an unforgettable performance at Bard in 2002), and the first piece the orchestra ever performed – founder Leopold Stokowski’s arrangement of the Star-Spangled Banner.

Stokowski was 80 when he formed the orchestra and did so under the mission of showcasing great American musicians through “concerts of great music within the means of everyone.” And yes – the Empire State Building itself will be lit red and white in honor of this golden anniversary.

Get full information and tickets at the ASO’s event page!

Read more Blair McMillen, News news.

Posted on October 25th, 2012 by mattparish

Comments are closed.

« »