Energized by the momentum of their many impressive achievements this past summer and fall, the Meehan/Perkins Duo will be offering a packed spring schedule of one-of-a-kind performances, symposia, and collaborations.

After the summer 2012 premiere of Jonathan Leshnoff‘s Concerto for Two Percussionists and Orchestra with the Round Top Festival Orchestra, Todd Meehan and Doug Perkins announced that they were the proud recipients of a generous Chamber Music America (CMA) grant for a new piece from renowned electro-acoustic composer Tristan Perich as well as a coveted grant from the Mid Atlantic Arts Foundation for their performance at Mexico’s Visiones Sonoras Festival this past October.

This coming Saturday, January 19, the Duo will head north to Duluth, Minnesota for a second performance of the Leshnoff concerto, this time led by conductor Dirk Meyer with the Duluth Superior Symphony Orchestra. Writing about the piece after its premiere, The Washington Post remarked that Leshnoff “thinks big, and with its twin virtues of accessibility and architectural coherence, you come away from the concerto feeling that you’ve heard something pleasantly significant.” A video of the concerto’s breathtaking first movement, as played at Round Top, appears below, and the second and third movements can be found on the Meehan/Perkins Duo Vimeo page.

On March 1 and 2, Todd and Doug will visit Waco, Texas for the 2013 Baylor Percussion Symposium, where they will join forces with their old bandmates, So Percussion, for a performance of Iannis Xenakis’ epic Pleiades. The two-day event was organized by Todd, who in addition to his work with Meehan/Perkins Duo is the Baylor Percussion Director, and will also feature talks and masterclasses focused on the music of Iannis Xenakis and Paul Lansky.

Following their visit to Baylor, the Duo will head to the 2013 Fast Forward Austin Festival to premiere Tristan Perich’s new 50-minute work for percussion duo and 1 bit electronics at the always-hip Fast Forward Austin Fest (made possible by the receipt of the CMA grant this past fall).

Finally, on June 16 and 17, the Duo will join Alarm Will Sound and the JACK Quartet as part of the Guggenheim’s Works & Process series for a two-night concert event featuring the works of Pulitzer Prize winning composer Steve Reich. The Duo will perform Reich’s Nagoya Marimbas, a classic in the percussion duo repertoire.

Don’t miss these exciting performances and other offerings of this gifted percussion duo!

Read more about Meehan/Perkins Duo.

Read more about Ariel Artists’ upcoming events.

Read more Meehan/Perkins Duo, News, Parallels news.

Posted on January 14th, 2013 by Ariel Artists

Comments are closed.

« »