The saxophone crosses many musical borders: famous in Jazz, Rock, and Pop, it was originally invented by the Belgian instrument maker Adolphe Sax in 1846 to conquer the stages of the classical music world.

As much as the saxophone is at home in many styles, Arcis feels that there are no boundaries for their unique genre. In this program the Quartet combines music from different centuries and genres which was first written for other instruments.

From Bach’s enchanting Italian Concerto written for harpsichord now split into four instrumental lines, to Haydn’s String Quartet Op. 20 No. 5, to Ligeti’s tricky and cheeky Six Bagatelles, Arcis takes classical music to new heights. They will bring a whole Hungarian orchestra sound on stage with dances by Bartók and Farka. And why not bringing a opera to life on top of it all? Anything is possible with four saxophones!

Works on the “Without Limits” program include:

Johann Sebastian Bach, Italian Concerto ( Arr. ASQ)

Joseph Haydn, String Quartet Op.20 No. 5 in F Minor

Béla Bartók, Romanian Folk Dances

György Ligeti, Six Bagatelles

Ferenc Farkas, Old Hungarian Dances

George Gershwin, Porgy and Bess Suite (Arr. Sylvain Dedenon)